Liechtenstein is a sovereign state in Europe's alpine region, sandwiched between Switzerland and Austria. With an area of slightly over 160 square kilometers (62 square miles) and a population of 38,387 (as of 2022), it is the sixth-smallest nation in the world and the fourth-smallest country in Europe.

The prince of Liechtenstein reigns over a semi-constitutional monarchy. The country is a unitary parliamentary semi-constitutional monarchy with direct democracy components. Prince Hans-Adam II is the head of state, and Prime Minister Daniel Risch, assisted by the Council of Government, is the head of government.

The country's official language is German, and its currency is the Swiss franc. When adjusted for purchasing power parity, Liechtenstein has one of the highest GDP per capita in the world. The country has a robust financial sector, concentrated in Vaduz, which was once renowned as a billionaire tax haven but is no longer on government blocklists of uncooperative tax haven countries.

Area: 62.15 square miles (160.47 km²)

Photo: unsplash
Photo: unsplash
Photo: unsplash
Photo: unsplash

Top 10 Smallest Countries in Europe

  1. top 1 Vatican City
  2. top 2 Monaco
  3. top 3 San Marino
  4. top 4 Liechtenstein
  5. top 5 Malta
  6. top 6 Andorra
  7. top 7 Luxembourg
  8. top 8 Cyprus
  9. top 9 Kosovo
  10. top 10 Montenegro

Toplist Joint Stock Company
Address: 3rd floor, Viet Tower Building, No. 01 Thai Ha Street, Trung Liet Ward, Dong Da District, Hanoi City, Vietnam
Phone: +84369132468 - Tax code: 0108747679
Social network license number 370/GP-BTTTT issued by the Ministry of Information and Communications on September 9, 2019
Privacy Policy